#uklibchat

Instant Ideas and Collaboration

When I started in LIS, I never thought I’d…

For our October 2013 #uklibchat What they don’t teach you in Library School,  we invited librarians on Twitter to finish off the sentence  ‘When I start in LIS, I never thought I’d..”

Here are the gathered results!  Teaching gets a lot of mention, and the fight to save libraries, but you may be surprised at some of the things that Librarians have to deal with: murder,  teepees, parrots and poop (maybe not so surprised at the last if you’re a children’s librarian).

CharlieRosina When I started in LIS I never thought I’d be lecturing to 300 students! Or teaching legal research skills! #uklibchat
poetryghost @spoontragedy @uklibchat #uklibchat When I entered LIS I never thought I’d have to deal with poop and vomit… #childrenslibrarianproblems
BookishKirsten When I started in LIS I never thought I’d attend a conference session on BDSM-related material in libraries. #uklibchat #radlibcamp
spoontragedy When I started in LIS I never thought I’d use quite similar skills in children’s librarianship & careers information services #uklibchat
CorBlastMe #uklibchat When I started in LIS I never thought I’d get to travel for work and have my own reading tepee!
Speranda when I started in LIS I never thought I would need to study Japanese #uklibchat
preater #uklibchat When I started in LIS I had no idea the breadth and depth of work I’d eventually become involved in.
LucyWoolhouse When I started in LIS I never thought I’d see a mummified rat. #uklibchat
spoontragedy When I started in LIS, I never thought I’d chair a panel of management consultants at a careers fair (doing this tomorrow!) #uklibchat
midcel When I first started in LIS I never thought I’d work in such a diverse range of workplaces or with such flexibility #uklibchat
AmyJoyHolvey @uklibchat When I first started in LIS, I never thought I’d get the chance to support patient care and clinical research #uklibchat
poetryghost #uklibchat when I started LIS I never thought I would dress as Scooby Do. Sorry if that’s a repeat.
libbyhex @uklibchat when I started in LIS I never thought I would be a prosecution witness in a work-related murder trial!
madlibscholar When I started in LIS, I never thought I’d do a PhD and fight so hard for libraries! #uklibchat
losbiblio When I started in LIS I never thought I’d find a practical use for a toy desk hoover #uklibchat
MartindalePam When I started in LIS I never thought I’d be talking about professional issues, with people I’ve never met, using a mobile phone! #uklibchat
mickfortune When I started out in LIS I never thought I would be working in it for 40+ years. Hoped it might last to Christmas. #uklibchat
HelenKielt @uklibchat When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d actually be excited about starting a research module! #uu_lim #uklibchat
jackoliver40 When I started out in LIS I never thought I would be involved with so much project management and people management #uklibchat
jackoliver40 When I started out in LIS I never thought about how little I would actually handle books & other stock materials #uklibchat
MartindalePam When I started in LIS I never thought I’d have the privilege of assessing other people’s fellowship and #chartership applications #uklibchat
jacapo47 When I started in LIS I never thought I’d want to stay in it! #uklibchat
JFJ24 When I started in LIS I never thought I’d…end up lecturing in LIS #uklibchat
losbiblio When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d have to do so much maths! #uklibchat
louise_ashton When I started out in LIS I never thought libraries & roles could change so much #uklibchat
Kangarooth Happy birthday blog! http://t.co/gucY91uzal Things I never thought I’d do when starting out in LIS (thanks to #uklibchat for the idea!)
Kari_Luana When I started in LIS I never thought I’d enjoy teaching so much #uklibchat
JoHarcus When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d be juggling three part time library posts at once! #uklibchat
ces43 When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d spend so much time teaching #uklibchat
JenFosterLib Just scheduled a tweet inviting students to find our parrot. One for @uklibchat I never thought….
GsyRach When I started in LIS I never thought I’d be so dependent on relationships with staff outside the library #uklibchat
JenFosterLib When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d spend summers discussing paint coding and the merits of dust trapping carpets #uklibchat
CaraClarke When i started in LIS i never thought i’d work less with books if i started to climb ladder. But u do. #uklibchat
CaraClarke When i started in LIS i never thought i’d do job appraisals, risk assessments, funding bids or contents insurance estimates #uklibchat
CaraClarke When i started in LIS i never thought i’d teach people how to do referencing. It completely baffled me during my undergrad deg! #uklibchat
CaraClarke When i started in LIS i never thought i’d cover a paperback without creases. (10 yrs later, still can’t cover hardbacks neatly!) #uklibchat
CaraClarke When i started in LIS i never thought i’d become a line manager or have to ‘protect’ liby funds from other depts #uklibchat
CaraClarke When i started in LIS i never thought i’d become a tropical fish tank owner. An obsessed one at that! #uklibchat
CaraClarke When i started in LIS i never thought i’d do a 10mi walk, bagpag in supermarkets to raise money or coax teenagers up a mountain #uklibchat
CaraClarke When i started in LIS i never thought i’d dabble in html or grasp techie talk terms such as client, VPN & MFD #uklibchat
CaraClarke When i started in LIS i never thought i’d speak in front of 500 people, travel abroad for work, become a long distance commuter #uklibchat
lushlibrarylass #uklibchat When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d meet Baggie Bird, work in a hospital, or dress up as a hamster. #WBA #funtimes
thehearinglib When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d… learn so much about business principles and management. Sign of the times..? #uklibchat
librarylandL When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d… become possesive over cataloguing and classification #uklibchat
Annie_Bob When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d… get so familiar with the inner workings of a printer #uklibchat
Annie_Bob When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d… be part of the #uklibchat team!
BishopWalshLib #uklibchat When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d be arranging 3 author visits a yr and speaking to 300 pupils at a time!
HelenMaryH When I started out in LIS I never thought I’d run storytime sessions or do creative things like make displays #uklibchat
alanfricker When I started in LIS I never thought I would speak to a huge crowd of doctors in the Governors’ Hall at Tommies #uklibchat
poetryghost When I started in LIS I never thought I’d spend so much time maintaining a website #uklibchat
Jo_Bo_Anderson When I started in LIS I never thought I’d have to take the local authority to court over library cuts + hate that I had to #uklibchat
SaintEvelin #uklibchat When I started in LIS I never thought I’d be engaging in a twitter conversation about LIS at half 8 during #gbbo
spoontragedy When I started in LIS I never thought I’d give summer reading challenge talks to 300 primary school pupils at a time #uklibchat
sarahehogg When I started in LIS I never thought I would consider a teaching qualification of some sort…but I think it would be useful #uklibchat
spoontragedy When I started in LIS I never thought I’d get to know my local police so well (public library 😉 #uklibchat
eileenfiddle @uklibchat When I started in LIS, I never though I’d be teaching!

Apologies if I’ve left anyone off, this was collated manually using a quick search of the tweet archives. Everyone is welcome to add to this, by posting in the comments box.

About Ka-Ming

Librarian at a University in London and one of the founding members of uklibchat.wordpress.com Find me @agentk23

3 comments on “When I started in LIS, I never thought I’d…

  1. Wendy
    October 4, 2013

    When I started in LIS, I never thought I would be managing a team of 20!

  2. Pingback: To diss or not to diss…that is the LIS question. | butilikesayingshh

  3. Pingback: #uklibchat Summary – What They Don’t Teach You In Library School – 1 October 2013 | #uklibchat

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2013 by in Discussion Summaries and tagged , , , , , .

Categories

