#uklibchat

Instant Ideas and Collaboration

Your newest team member!

Hi everyone,

My name is Gaby and I’m the fresh out of the box new member of the #uklibchat team (@GabyK_lib). I currently work in a public library in the south east. My title is no longer librarian but I still get to do great projects in my library for all ages from the summer reading challenge, to the home library service. Prior to that I used to be Children’s Librarian responsible for Teens at the same location.

I discovered #uklibchat a while back and have really appreciated the ninja way it has got me involved in PD in my own time, a thing I thought I’d never do. I also love that it helps me learn about other librarians, their work and make new friends.

I’m going to be your friendly neighbourhood librarian in charge of May’s chat on the topic of “Classifying the Librarian” which will be about all the ways we go about supporting our customers needs. Librarians can be teachers, advisers, information sources, researchers, events managers, web designers, data analysts, marketeers, child minders, social workers. But really, how far does a librarian stretch? And how far should we push the boundaries of what a librarian is?

Why not come and join in with the chat on Tuesday 6 May?

About gabyklib

Gaby has been a librarian in a public library in the UK since 2004. Her current role is covers working with all library customers through project work, reports, outreach and promotion including website maintenance and social media. Previously she was a children's librarian with particular focus on Teens.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2014 by in About #uklibchat, Announcement.

Categories

