#uklibchat

Instant Ideas and Collaboration

Summary – Librarians and Personality – Feb 2013

On 21 February, #uklibchat did a special session on Librarians and Personality, which was linked to a session at Library Camp London on the same topic. The chat was very well attended and got #uklibchat trending on UK Twitter!

Because of the volume of participation in the session, this summary includes a selection of tweets rather than all of them. Please see #uklibchat’s Twitter archive for all tweets from the discussion. You can search by Twitter name.

1)     How would you describe your personality in reality?

@HelenMaryH: I did the test 10 yrs ago and was ESTJ but thought I was more INTJ. I did something like this with a room full of lawyers with colour types – you’d think lawyers were a type but the colours were more or less evenly distributed!

@LibraryEmsI failed at the personality test, kept giving me completely different answers. Seem to be 50/50 introvert/extravert. My problem with those tests is I ponder too much about what each question means :-). Maybe that means I’m a ‘ponderer’

@poetryghost: Hmmm not sure what to say: Loud Silly Creative Passionate Friendly. Was perfect for children’s lib, but I’m more general now. On the test on the agenda I got erm ESFJ “the hostess” sociable friendly etc. I would not argue with ESFJ to be honest. Seems reasonable. I can be introverted if I’m unnerved by a situation but rarely

@RosieHare: If we’re talking ‘types’, I’m an ENFP, which I think is fairly correct. Others have verified this for me also! Definitely extraverted and get my energy and excel in situations when I’m around others

@Annie_Bobaccording to the test I took the other day I’m an ISFJ – can’t remember exactly what all that meant but introvert is right. I prefer to listen rather than talk, in most things I’m organised & methodical but others not (all my clothes are on the floor)

@AmyJoyHolvey: I’m sociable and find I’m happiest when in groups or working closely with others- Test was very accurate = ENFJ

@_joelfe: I’d describe myself as quiet but not shy. Self-contained. In Myers Briggs terms I’m an INFJ, which is exactly me and hasn’t changed in last 12 years.

@theatregrad: I’m loud, talkative, very competitive, stubborn, a little scatterbrained and rather over emotional. The personality test told me I was ESTP which has some truth. Definitely extroverted as I am a former drama student.

@LottieMSmithI think pretty service-orientated, like to help people, perceptive and looking at the bigger picture and the future than details. I am an INTP, which I think is pretty accurate. Although I am quite introspective in my personal life, professionally I am more able to network etc. via experience

@pmshort Friendly and outgoing, I think!

@nckyrnsm I was ISFJ which is about right I think. Definitely introvert and judging, but other two very close to 50/50

@BishopWalshLibI’m an administrator who wants to be a seller – which as a school librarian is quite good. I do a lot of “selling” books in talks.

@SimonXIX: I would self-define as a thinker. Though I’ve gotten a lot more outgoing over the past year especially. The test said I was an ENTJ. Which I’m not sure about. I’m also neat and organised. Which fits the librarian stereotype. But again I was lot more borderline-OCD a few years ago

A lot of participants talked about how they thought their personality has changed over time:

  • @preater: Recently did an MBTI & came out ENFP but am about 50:50 on the extraversion scale, not super-extraverted. That said, I’ve worked on extraversion the the last 2 or 3 years, was more of an “I” when I was younger.
  • @poetryghostI think that’s often true. I was an introvert in school because I was bullied, have changed with experiences
  • @SimonXIX: Same here. I was so much quieter and shyer a few years ago. Librarianship has been the making of me. (for me) It’s not something I’ve actively worked on. Just a consequence of my development and the people around me 
  • @preaterI worked on it because I knew I needed to be more E for work, networking etc
  • @KrisWJ: I agree, found I’ve become more extroverted because work has required it
  • @LibrarySherpa@SimonXIX is right on point with this: “Librarianship has been the making of me.” Once you’ve made it here, you’re family. While I think ESTJ is spot on for me now, I think it’s important to realize that it can change. Would have been diff yrs ago
  • @HelenMaryH: I am different to when I took the test 10 yrs ago – a lot less judging and a lot more feeling I think
  • @spoontragedy: My test was ESTJ. I think I’ve got more extroverted as I got older, always been quite responsible & a planner. I think ESTJ is quite accurate for me right now but like @LibrarySherpa I think it can & will change.

@tomroper: Can anyone offer a scientific basis for these types? I have yet to be convinced; seems more like astrology to me

  • @SimonXIX: I agree with you. I’m not 100% sold on Jung’s theory or 20th Century psychology in general
  • @tomroper: Freud much more solid, IMHO
  • @LibraryEms: introvert, strict, humourless, rule-oriented, detail-oriented
  • @sarahlmasters: booklover = lots of reading = glasses (or hidden contacts)
  • @KrisWJ: the shushing spinster librarian in her twinset & glasses is a favourite stereotype, v unimaginative!
  • @preater: Scherdin (1994) says the classic libn type is ISTJ/INTJ, to me that seems more of a “cataloger” type whereas libn is broader. Scherdin bases this on MBTIs of library workers.

2) What is the stereotypical personality of a librarian, and is there truth to that stereotype?

Unsurprisingly, few people thought there was much in this stereotype. Some thought this was a product of changing times, as much as inaccurate stereotyping.

  • @RosieHare: The more I’ve looked into types and seen people’s results, I’m less inclined to think stereotypes are prevalent.
  • @SimonXIX: The stereotype is currently changing. From that of hair-bunned strict spinster to youngish techie kind of person. To some extent, there is no ‘current’ stereotype of librarians since IMHO librarians have been pushed back in the culture
  • @pmshort: When I was young, librarians could be strict and forbidding!
  • @LottieMSmith: Perhaps used to be easier to be quiet and a non-forward facing librarian as less need for advocacy/teaching/networking etc.
  • @clareangela: introverts shouldn’t be drawn to corporate/legal librarianship. Unless they want to be in tears every day *controversial face*
  • @HelenKieltI visit a lot of public branches through my work and meet ALL types of personalities.
  • @LibrarySherpa: I do not believe in a stereotypical librarian personality. Only common denominators which our profession brought us together
  • @HelenKielt: it’s definitely the variety of people involved that make librarianship an attractive profession
  • @ASLIBInfoIn Managing Info mag we compared the personality of libs. to those born in the year of the snake: influential, motivated, insightful

3) How do you think social media affects how introverts engage with the wider profession?

Some people were not comfortable with making a distinction between introverts and extroverts. However, most agreed that social media was very positive in helping people interact and engage.

  • @SimonXIX: I don’t believe in the introversion/extroversion distinction. Certainly it’s too broad a distinction to be useful. That said, I do think social media has had a positive effect on my ability to engage with people. More confidence now
  • @LibraryEms: As far as I understand, there’s a difference btw introversion & being shy? Introverts can be good at networking too
  • @AgentK23: yes it does. imagine people who get terribly shy, or go red when in group, something like uklibchat lets ppl interact.
  • @HelenMaryH: it’s fantastic, much easier to engage with people you don’t know from behind a screen – I’m not a natural networker
  • @KrisWJI find it easier to start talking to complete strangers than I would if face to face

Many people found social media helped them make the most of real life networking opportunities:

@LottieMSmithSocial media helps me to network IRL as I can socialize with conference participants before events etc. Def an icebreaker

  • @Annie_Bob:  I’m the same, can be much more confident online than at a conference etc.
  • @preater: that’s very interesting, the ‘So you are X on twitter’ opener.
  • @LottieMSmith: yep I find it gives me a basis on which to hang an introduction (often the hardest bit of networking for me!)

Participants talked about how people’s personalities on social networking platforms differed from their personalities in real life.

  • @Annie_Bob: I’m more extroverted online than I am offline. Perhaps because of the extra time to reflect before speaking?
  • @preater: suspect it’s much easier to engage with the wider profession – I find a lot of people seem E online but in real life very I.
  • @AgentK23: I wonder if my IRL personality matches my twitter personality, what do you guys think?

Many people felt social media had really helped them engage with the wider profession:

  • @spoontragedy: Social media certainly opened up a whole world for me in terms of professional engagement & meeting ppl from different sectors
  • @HelenKielt: social media enables you to connect with the library community at large, without it we would be a much more insular profession

Some people had qualifiers to add:

  • @clareangelaOnline is perfect for hiding behind. Not good for introverts. Need personal interaction to maintain social skills.
  • @poetryghost: Should we not be defining which social media? I’m not sure facebook makes anyone more extroverted & interactive, twitter maybe
  • @LibrarySherpa: From my point of view over here on the other side of the pond, wondering if any of these points are also cultural differences

4) Do you think certain personality types are suited to different fields of library work?

Opinion was quite divided on this question. Some people thought emphatically not. There was a discussion of whether personality was a valid consideration in the interview process.

@tomroper: I hope not. I’m interviewing tomorrow. I am emphatically not looking for a specific personality, but skills, experience, ideas. Which raises a question, do those of you who think that ‘personality’ is measurable agree with testing in selection for jobs?

  • @RosieHare: As it should be. Very difficult to avoid subconscious bias when recruiting though I imagine
  • @tomroper: But I know colleagues who make recruitment decisions on whether someone’s personality will fit
  • @AgentK23: do you see that as a bad thing, or a reasonable thing to look at? (whether someone will fit in)
  • @tomroperBad, I fear, @AgentK23. A justification for the exercise of prejudice
  • @spoontragedy: I think that happens all the time, and people don’t always admit it even to themselves
  • @SimonXIX: True that. Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow says a lot about these unthinking judgements
  • @RosieHare: Subconscious bias. It’s very difficult to NOT pay attention to it. Perhaps impossible?
  • @HelenMaryH: the trinity is can they do the job, will they do the job, will they fit in? Not an unusual approach at all

Some did think personality was part of what made people suitable for a job.

@SimonXIX: I used to believe that anyone could do any job if they put their minds to it. I don’t believe that anymore

  • @AgentK23: what changed your mind?
  • @SimonXIX: Natural talent and ingrained personality has more of an impact that I acknowledged when I was young
  • @SimonXIX: You’re more likely to excel if you have natural talent
  • @AgentK23: i think perhaps there may be a path of least resistance dependent on personality, background, inclination.
  • @LibraryEms: natural talent plus hard work plus a bit of luck/the right opportunity maybe?

Certain roles seem to be seen as ‘for a certain type of person’ much more than others, for exaple children’s librarianship and cataloguing.

  • @HelenMaryHI’d guess you need to be more extraverted for outreach and work with kids; if you are a cataloguer you need an eye for detail? But ultimately you get all types and you learn the skills required, even if you’re not a natural.
  • @SimonXIXThe stereotype is that cataloguers are a certain ‘kind of person’. And I think management takes a certain personality type
  • @poetryghostI think if you are going into cataloguing you need certain abilities rather than personality type. I’d say cataloguers need a certain way of thinking & eye for rigid detail. Those aren’t necessarily personality types
  • @cjclib not really following but bristling a bit at the “cataloguer type” comments…
  • @RosieHare: Perhaps if people prefer more methodical, systematic work, certain roles would suit them over others.
  • @preater: my feeling is E types will do better in certain roles, but it’s not cut and dried – eg. a 1 to 1 ref interview in detail could work well for an I type although it’s customer-facing. I certainly think my own type works for my role as I think much better about complete systems than I do about details.
  • @spoontragedy: As a children’s librarian, I actually resent the perception that children’s work is ‘only for certain types of people’. I’m not actually sure why- maybe because I don’t think children should be seen as ‘other’ as they are. They’re just people
  • @RosieHare: Similar to the ‘children’s TV presenter’ kind of stereotype?
  • @spoontragedy: Yes, something like that. I think that children benefit from interacting with different types of people
  • @poetryghost: I’m not sure I can agree with that. Although many people can work with kids, many just really can’t. But I wouldn’t necessarily say that is personality, I’d say it is about skills and abilities
  • @nckyrnsm: but perhaps you are more likely to have those abilities if you are a certain type of person…
  • @theatregrad: Personally I have no idea how to interact with or talk to children so not sure I could do library work involving kids. Whether that is having the wrong personality or not having the skills to I’m not sure? Mix of both?
  • @poetryghost: that’s very much true that kids are people too but relating is not the same otherwise everyone would just do it.
  • @spoontragedy: A lot of ppl feel that way, imo it’s a symptom of our society seeing children as separate & other, which I dislike. I don’t mean it as a judgment, though.

Many people were uncomfortable with what they saw as pigeonholing people:

  • @pennyb: Many introverts are go-getters and good at outreach. I know avoidant extroverts who find management too solitary
  • @RosieHare: I don’t think there can be such a thing as a ‘wrong’ personality. We’re all beautiful and diverse.
  • @_joelfe: Not sure that there’s only set personality type for certain roles. People more complex than that.
  • @pennyb: Exactly. I think people can write themselves off from things they might enjoy/excel at because of this, too. Fundamentally hate the idea that you are more/less suited to jobs based on type. Extra touchy about it due to autism stereotypes
  • @SimonXIX: I agree it’s not clearcut but I think certain natural inclinations help with certain roles
  • @davidcloverLate #uklibchat contribution want to emphasise difference between personality, or preferred style and behaviour, way we accommodate to needs

@LibrarySherpa summed up her viewpoint on what we have in common as librarians:

@LibrarySherpaAs I once said to @LibWig – there are no divas in librarianship. We are a service profession that req a specialized skill set.

5) What do you want to see at #libcampldn to encourage greater introvert participation?

@pennyb: Some of the people who hardly say anything at camp are the most outgoing in the social mingly bit and the pub after. Proves it’s not lack of social confidence stopping them talking, it’s not understanding camp. I guess the main thing for camp is to get across that it is more like the pub than a meeting & participation is vital

@nckyrnsm: there was a really interesting TEDx talk about it. http://t.co/5enBvpQzpJ Def worth watching if you haven’t already

@esuffield: I Love to network online as I have zero confidence approaching people deffo ice breaker for me 🙂

  • @SHelmick: That’s an excellent point. Most of our staff introverts offer great advantage through connections and crowdsourcing.
  • @SHelmick: Our #social network marketing is done through people (myself) who are absolutely lost in p2p exchanges.

@dangleroughly: Many people have unfortunate fear of speaking in public. Offer practical tips on how to manage this?

  • @daveyp: I find it helps to treat public speaking as a performance. It’s a chance to be someone else 🙂
  • @LibrarySherpa: Exactly! I find it helpful to channel the persona of Oprah for public speaking engagements.

Some participants were uncomfortable with targeting introverts as a group, and implying that something needed fixing:

  • @AgentK23: why particularly target introvert types as a group?
  • @LibraryEmsYes, better to just encourage everyone’s participation rather than target introverts
  • @nckyrnsmMay be my percep, but wonder if introverts are seen as needing to be ‘cured’ – when actually their way of operating has value too
  • @uklibchat: That’s a good point- maybe people are happy not contributing. I think it goes both ways, some are and some aren’t.

There was a good deal of agreement that large groups in Library Camp sessions tended to end up being dominated by a few participants, and that splitting into smaller groups for part of the time could help to prevent this.

Because of the diversity of different sectors in the library world, some people had been to library camp sessions that they were interested in, but felt that they didn’t have much to say because it was so different to their work. Encouraging people to ask questions if they don’t know much about a topic is one way to address this.

6) Do you think your job has influenced your personality?

People talked about how their job had influenced them as people:

  • @HelenMaryH: being a lawyer made me have to work on attention to detail, working in a public liby on “performing” in public.
  • @SimonXIXAbsolutely. Though it’s mostly due to the people I’ve met and the things I’ve been asked to do. Having to suddenly work with boisterous soldiers helped me get more confidence. And managing people changes you. Although Hume would say that continuity of self is an illusion so it’s impossible to identify myself with my past self 😉
  • @preater: systems librarianship has made me more outgoing! No, really… because I have to network, speak, etc.
  • @poetryghostI think my former kids lib job has pushed me further along the road of being helpful and enjoying the company of children. Volunteering roles have made me more leadery sometimes, which is not my natural inclination.
  • @esuffield: yes definitely I have matured so much and been told my attitude and professionalism has grown 🙂 I took that as a good thing
  • @AmyJoyHolveythis stage of my career (1st year in) personality has influenced job and career opportunities not the other way round. Maybe not the job per se, but being around like-minded people has probably made me more confident and outgoing
  • @spoontragedy: Not to sound dramatic, I think any service job where you work with the general public involves a certain loss of illusions
  • @AmyJoyHolveythis is v.valid- not in current role but whilst in previous position, difficult situations/people does affect the way you work

There was some discussion of whether our personalities were so susceptible to change.

  • @_joelfe: Not sure your personality changes like that. Outward manifestations of it maybe.
  • @SimonXIX: I disagree. I feel like I get a lot more energy from being around people than I used to. People change
  • @LibraryEms: I agree, I’m not sure I can identify an intrinsic “personality,” even my present self changes with diff situations. May be why I struggled with the personality test.
  • @tomroperAnd we spend far more time at work than anywhere else, at least while we’re awake

This question again demonstrated the difficulty of distinguishing between skills and personality traits. For example, is confidence a skill or personality trait?

  • @nckyrnsm: Confidence has increased but not sure it’s changed my personality type. Not sure they are the same thing?
  • @pennyb: A skill, because it can be learned.
  • @preater: Agree. Think personality defines where you naturally start from.
  • @nancecc: I’m e.g. more confident *at work* but doesn’t mean now call myself confident – just learn new skills for diff situations
  • @JamesAtkinson81: Confidence can seem like a skill when you make an effort and put it on a bit at work.

7) What personal traits must a librarian have?

Some traits that people found helpful to them in their work:

  • @SimonXIX: Being organised and relatively logical helps me do my job. It helps me understand and interface with computers. Ideally of course I’d strip out all the human personality from my mind and just leave the logic. Then I’d be a robot
  • @daveyp: Ah, good ol’ Librarian 2.0 http://t.co/DC01lRxwLv
  • @spoontragedy: I think my tendency to plan and look ahead helps me in my work
  • @nancecc: a desire to help – too cheesy?!
  • @poetryghost: I don’t think that’s too cheesy at all
  • @LibraryEms: In most of the jobs I’ve had so far, fitting in well with team, willing to help, not being easily distracted, enthusiasm. Probably if I get a more senior role will take other skills, so not really related to personality.
  • @HelenMaryH: confidence, ability and willingness to help, tenacity and some attention to detail. Ability to deal with all sorts of people.
  • @RosieHare: I think communication and teamwork are key for me. I start to get sad when these things break down.
  • @AmyJoyHolvey: I agree with @poetryghost communication, organisation skills and often people/project management skills
  • @LibWig: Need be confident that you are providing users with up to date, accurate information – but that doesn’t mean over confident. Perhaps assuring to your users is a better way to describe it rather than confident
  • @preater: I think the feeling (Jungian) aspect really helps thinking things through in a management role. But would apply outside libs.
  • @SHelmickApproaching the #reference transaction as “us” or “we” learning the answer together is good too.
  • @liz_jolly: self awareness as shown by knowing, for example, your MBTI is key part of being reflective practitioner…knowing about others’ MBTI can be key element of being effective in an organisation including managing your boss

Many people thought that empathy and the ability to think about things from different perspectives was of particular importance in most areas of librarianship, although not in all roles.

  • @spoontragedy: I think ability to think of things from different perspectives is one that is particularly helpful in librarianship, as you need to be able to understand how people are approaching a question/problem to help them best
  • @KrisWJ: Definitely this! RT @LOLintheLibrary Q7 Natural empathy with others, helps when thinking of user perspective
  • @SimonXIX: For most librarians, empathy is very important. The ability to understand user needs and think as others do
  • @LibraryEms: Are they skills that can be developed or personality traits? Hmm

Some thought that we were really talking about skills and not personality traits.

  • @poetryghost: I keep going back to skills not personality traits. Communication, lateral thinking, willingness to help

Were any of these things specific to library and information work, or are they things that would help in any job?

  • @poetryghost: I think willingness to help and understanding systems are possibly semi specific to libraries
  • @BishopWalshLib: I think being friendly, helpful and organised would help in any job, but it’s essential in a librarian.
  • @RosieHare: As Linsey mentioned…a lot of these skills could be applied to most service-based jobs.

8) How can you match your personality with a job advertisement & know whether it’s the right thing for you?

Many participants thought that job descriptions didn’t have enough information for people to tell whether the job would suit them. Some people thought that in an interview, you had a better chance to assess fit.

  • @LibWig: don’t think you can match a personality to a job desc – that part comes at the interview and the feel you get from the org. Sometimes it is easier to tell if you won’t fit than if you will – I’ve had that a couple of times.. views that interviewer put forward about direction and projects that a service was taking indicated that I might not agree/fit in
  • @theatregrad: Agreed. On a couple of ocassions I’ve been convinced I’d found the right job until interview changed my mind
  • @AmyJoyHolvey: My experience is also that interview gives you the clarity of whether you will fit/ job will be right

Some people thought there was really no way to know until you were in the job:

  • @HelenKielt: you won’t know till you’re in there!

Some people didn’t think personality was really a relevant consideration in whether a job was right for you:

  • @HelenMaryH: it’s not about matching your personality, it’s if you have essential and desired skills. Back to skills over personality again
  • @nancecc: Never considered my personality for a job – just can I do it and do I think I’ll like it…
  • @spoontragedy: I think it’s about identifying that you share values & ways of approaching things with the panel- not personality so much?

There was some discussion of sector and personality:

  • @RosieHare: e.g I feel like my ‘personality’ would not suit working in a law or corporate library. Now I’m not so sure if my previous answer is just me being picky. It kind of reflects my social and cultural views though.
  • @preater: tend to agree with @RosieHare, feel I ‘need’ to be in HE as a place I can work in a service that has transformative effects
  • @theatregrad: I think my current sector suits my personality as well as my interests. I imagine others might hate the environment

Some people had been interviewed by people they didn’t work with day to day, which they found made it harder to assess fit. Some tried to interview their interviewers:

  • @poetryghost: To work at trying to interview your future employers as much as the reverse. Hard to do when nervous. I think this is so important but also as a role reversal. Will these people suit you, not “will they like me”.
  • @LibraryEms: It’s never been an issue as I’ve always been desperate for any job, wld like to be in the position to assess this!

10) How can interviewers guess the personality of a candidate at a job interview? How can they tell what you are like?

@LibWig: It can be tricky when people are nervous! Hopefully interviewer will calm you down and help you to demonstrate what you are like

@rugabela: By tricky & unexpected questions. That way, they see reactions & can get useful info about your emotions

There was discussion of how much people are ‘themselves’ at interviews:

  • @pennyb: Depends how open you are. I tend to state explicitly what I am like these days, works better. More intense, but they’d see that later in the job. I hate employers who look for “fit” over ability & potential
  • @JamesAtkinson81: That’s tricky – only if you allow more than a formal version of yourself out – perhaps through q’s about you. Strength based interviews might be a key here.
  • @LibraryEms: Also, I have to say I slightly change my personality in an interview, doesn’t everyone?
  • @pennyb: No, but then I can’t suppress myself or fake anything – another autistic thing. Chameleons more employable?
  • @BishopWalshLib: I think most people have an interview “act” when they project the person they would like to be rather than the person they are.
  • @theatregrad: I always try to show some of my personality at interviews. Not sure if that is wise but doesn’t seem to stop me getting jobs
  • @KrisWJ: obvs you present best version of you, but if you misrepresent too much you may find yourself in job that doesn’t suit you

There was a discussion about whether it was appropriate (or inevitable?) for interviewers to try to find about your personality:

  • @SimonXIX: I wouldn’t want an interviewer to judge me on my personality. All that matters is my ability to do the job or not
  • @daveyp: Your application mostly covers your ability to do the job
  • @poetryghost: ah an ideal world…seriously though what should people do when candidates are equal?
  • @SimonXIX:  Flip a coin. If they’re equally skilled, then the outcome is immaterial
  • @LibWig: think we need to differentiate from manner & way of dealing with ppl (imp in public/user facing roles) from personality
  • @SimonXIX: Intuitive human judgement is fundamentally flawed. Sometimes algorithms and mechanistic frameworks are the solution. NB. I wrote my undergraduate dissertation on the flaws of human intuition. Good times

11) How can you discover your hidden talents or personal abilities?

Many participants thought that getting out of your comfort zone was key to this:

  • @preater: I think by trying new things: moreover *asking* to do so, being a person that says yes, & getting out of yr comfort zone.  Have a strong view on this – I find excuses and “I’m scared” so tiresome.
  • @pennyb: RUN TOWARDS THE SPIKES. Deliberately doing things I think I can’t do is part of my raison d’être. Failure is part of learning.
  • @spoontragedy: I think that’s a good raison d’etre 🙂
  • @LibraryEms: If depressed it sometimes seems impossible to do this tho… whereas at other times, it seems more fun to try new things
  • @KrisWJ: doing the unexpected, might think unsuited to task or role until try it & surprised to find enjoy/excel at it

@daveyp: “it’s easier to ask forgiveness than it is to get permission” has become my mantra — just try new stuff & experiment lots

  • @spoontragedy: Yes! That’s very true, I’ve done that more as I’ve become more confident in my job.
  • @daveyp: One of my bugbears is when new staff with great ideas are knocked down a peg by management 😦
  • @preater: definitely agree, always want staff to act on initiative, do things and tell me / ask forgiveness afterwards.
  • @poetryghost:  my new bugbear, being told they want me to use my initiative then smacked down when I do it. Hate the contradiction.

@uklibchat also asked: Have you ever done something new at work and realised that you were unexpectedly good at it? Or unexpectedly bad?

  • @theatregrad: I realised that the policy writing element of my last role didn’t come as easily as I had thought it would
  • @JamesAtkinson81: Recently put together two trolleys – discovered I’m better at DIY than I thought
  • @DonnaGundry:  teaching, I never thought I could stand up in front of 20 students and keep them interested
  • @BishopWalshLib: Helping to build a new library website on the school’s VLE – I loved doing that!
  • @DonnaGundry: working on our website at the moment, using google. Tricky but interesting with some fun. I can see the appeal

12) Have technological changes in the profession encouraged different personality types to join?

Many people thought yes, but some thought technological changes just meant a need for different skills.

@RosieHare: I’d be inclined to say yes…more scope for ‘techy’ types rather than people who think it’s all about books.

@pennyb: Yes, my poster for #LUtwit is partly about this. Not just joy of tech itself, but Twitter aiding social impairment

@SimonXIX: Yes, I would argue that the growth of digital information decreases the import of intuition and increases import of logic

@HelenKielt: technological change has surely brought out skills in ppl who wouldn’t ordinarily have been exposed to this environment 🙂

@LibraryEms: I guess digital technology encouraged different skills but maybe not different personalities?

@LibWig: Yes – was article online recently about the rise of “Pink collar workers” – men being drawn into librarianship through technology

@SimonXIX: Digital information changes people. It’s changing society. It changes how people think. It definitely changes librarianship

@poetryghost: maybe mainstreaming of digi tech changes people’s attitudes to those who use it more than the personality type?

@spoontragedy:  In some ways digital technology requires less precision than old technologies eg card catalogues

  • @SimonXIX: I disagree. I think it requires more precision. But perhaps precision of a different kind
  • @pennyb: Nah, metadata requires absolute precision to be worthwhile. It’s just the point in process those skills are needed.
  • @spoontragedy: I think it partly depends on which type of LIS job you’re in- eg reader services vs. systems. I think I’m coming at it as a library worker using metadata to serve people, not the one creating the metadata
  • @preater:I think we’re back to that (fairly old now, but coming back) idea of convergence of library and IT roles there. My view, get to 80% & call it good. Throw it all into a lucene/solr discovery layer and don’t fuss too much.

@daveypI’m frequently disappointed that libraries aren’t on the cutting edge of new technologies and aren’t setting the agenda

Links:

The agenda for the Librarians and Personality chat

The free personality test linked to from the agenda, which many participants took before the chat

@preater’s blog summary of the #libcampldn session on Librarians and Personality

@ggnewed’s blog post on #libcampldn, including discussion of the Librarians and Personality session

About spoontragedy

Former public library Children's Librarian, now working as a Careers Information Officer in a London university. Nearly finished being an #aberils student.

2 comments on “Summary – Librarians and Personality – Feb 2013

  1. Pingback: Librarians and personality – at Library Camp London » Ginformation Systems

  2. Pingback: Librarians and personality – at Library Camp London | Ginformation Systems

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories